Helpful Guide

Tips and tricks for making your team successful with Helpful.

What is Helpful?

Helpful is a video communication app for modern teams. Teams use Helpful to stay engaged. Unlike other messaging platforms, you can send a Helpful message to anyone, even if they're not on Helpful. They'll be able to watch and reply to your video without needing to download the app.


Get started

Get the app

Helpful is available to download for iOS and Android.


Home screen

This is the main Helpful screen. You can see all of our Helpful conversations.

Threads

When you tap on a conversation, you can see all the messages that have been sent by swiping left or right. Threads can be with multiple people or a group, or one person.

Recording

When you press the record button, you will be taken to the record screen. This is how you send a message.


Sending messages

What will the recipient see?

The recipient of your message will be notified with an email. When they click on the link in the email, they will be able to watch your video, as well as to reply by video. They don't need to download the app.

Pro-tip: want to customize your landing page video with your company's brand? 
Contact us to get started!

Do I always have to show my face?

No, you can send many kinds of messages with Helpful! You can:

  • Flip the camera
  • Record an audio-only message
  • Narrate over an image
  • Upload an image or a screenshot
  • Reply with text

Editing captions and subject lines

Helpful automatically captions your video. However, you can also edit captions and the subject line. After you've recorded a video, just click on the Captions icon in the top right corner to edit the caption and subject line of your message.


Managing groups

Creating groups on Helpful

Creating a group for your conversations is easy.

  • Tap on the New Group button at the top right of your screen.
  • Name your group.
  • Select the contacts that you want to add to your group.
  • Tap on Create. You will now be able to see it in the home tab.
  • Go to your group and send your first video to welcome everyone to the group!

Pro-tip: You can also automatically create a group by sending a video to multiple people.

Edit or Add People to Groups

Enter a group and tap on tap for more at the top of the group to rename your group, add or remove people, leave group, or turn off notifications for the group.

Edit or Add People to Groups

You can connect to your existing Slack channels.

  • Tap on the Directory page.
  • Tap on Add new contacts
  • Choose a Slack channel to connect to.
  • Your existing Slack channel will be created as a Helpful group.
  • After you post a video to the group, you'll be able to choose if you want to also share that video to the Slack channel.

Advanced features

Track who saw my message

Tap on the three dots icon below a video. Scroll down to see who viewed and likes your message.

Save my videos

Tap on the three dots below a video. Tap the star icon to save your video, which you can access on your profile. Or tap the Share Button, and then tap More to save your video to your phone.

Delete your message

Tap on the three dots below a video. Tap the garbage can icon to delete your message.

Saving and sharing videos

Tap on the three dots below a video. Tap the Share Button to copy the URL to your video.

Adding links

You can add links to your Helpful messages. After you record a video, tap the Add Link 🔗 icon, to add an external link to your message.

Need more help?

Ask our support team questions, tell us about a bug, request a feature, give us some love! Let us know how we can help you.